News:

When using this site you agree to cookies being used to support forum functions only.

Main Menu

Barcelona in huge debt

Started by Stephen Paul, August 16, 2021, 21:36:37

Previous topic - Next topic

Stephen Paul

Barcelona president Joan Laporta has revealed the Spanish club is 1.35bn euros (£1.15bn) in debt, describing the situation as "very worrying".

The club's wage bill currently accounts for 103% of total income.

Laporta blames predecessor Josep Maria Bartomeu for the debt, accusing him of leaving a "terrible inheritance".

gavin

How has Mr Tebas allowed his clubs to get i such a mess when they are so much better run than the likes of City?

KunDB

I’m no expert on European football, or the ‘politics’ of European football, but from what I’ve read in the press and media.

It is temporary and will resolve over the next few years. Also, it is partly driven by Tebas and La Liga rules that apply FFP in advance, not retrospectively. It does show however how FFP focus is on investment and not debt.

Real Madrid are also in trouble financially I believe.

Though the most interesting thing to note about FFP, is how PSG have spent massively without seemingly any significant difficulty or significant challenge from UEFA (UEFA did lose in court somewhat shambolically to a PSG challenge). Strangely, the PSG chairman Nasser Al-Khelaifi got elected to an officer position on the European Football Association, whereas City and Khaldoon and co. were not welcome, and more recently, post the super club fiasco which PSG did not sign up to, has become president of that group. This is a group which represents the elite european football clubs that play in europe and speak on their behalf on issues e.g. fair play, UEFA rule changes.